Kimberly’s in Honig Heaven

honig_cabx

From the cluttered desk of Kimberly Eakin:

Yesterday, June 9th, I had the pleasure of dining with Michael Honig, president of Honig Vineyards and Winery in Napa.  Michael was visiting Virginia and had arranged for a luncheon with three southwest Virginia restaurateurs and wine retailers, me among them.
We lunched at Charlottesville’s Inn at Court Square, a 1785 Federal-period home that has been beautifully restored.  I enjoyed a lovingly prepared and exceedingly delicious mushroom Po’ boy but, more importantly, I got to taste all four different wines from this gifted winemaker.  I’ll own that I was a tad embarrassed that I was less familiar with what Michael and his family was doing at Honig vineyards than were my tablemates but I was prepared to learn what Honig wines were all about.
Michael told me, “Our family grows only two grapes: Cabernet Sauvignon and Sauvignon Blanc.  That’s all we’ve ever grown and all we ever will.”  This was OK with me as I’m a proponent of sticking to whatever it is you do best.  And the strategy was obviously working for them as these were all very good wines.  I’m loathe to recommend fixes for that which is not broke.
We tasted the ’08 Honig Sauvignon Blanc Napa and the ’07 Honig Sauvignon Blanc Reserve Rutherford as well as the ’06 Cabernet and the ’05 Bartolucci Cabernet.  They were each excellent in their own way, fullsome, well constructed and aromatic.  As I’ve done post-tasting research on the wines I also find them to be well regarded in the industry.  Look soon for us to stock both the Cabernet Sauvignon Napa and Sauvignon Blanc Napa.
Quite aside from their wines, I must admit that these folks have a terrific sense of humor.  Check out the postcard campaign they have as a marketing tool.  It’s hilarious.

honig_postcard

http://www.honigwine.com/postcards

Published in: on June 10, 2009 at 10:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winegourmet.wordpress.com/2009/06/10/kimberlys-in-honig-heaven/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

